The Immigration Branch encourages immigration and has established a Settlement Service and Field and Inspection Services overseas to screen immigrants before arrival in Canada. The Department has boards of inquiry in Atlantic and Pacific districts for deportation of undesirables, also Field and Inspection Services for examination of ships' crews.

The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of Indian land and reserves, trust funds, welfare projects, relief, family allowances, education, descent of property, rehabilitation of Indian veterans on reserves, Indian treaty obligations, enfranchisement of Indians, and other Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 91 local agencies in the field, each agency being responsible for one or more reserves and bands.

The National Gallery of Canada is also under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. It was transferred from the administration of the Minister of Public Works in September 1951, and will work toward the building of Canadian citizenship through the encouragement of cultural activities among young persons and immigrants. See also Chapter IV.

The Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, as far as possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters positions at Ottawa, termed the "inside service".

The Civil Service Act of 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the "outside" as well as the "inside" service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It made the Commission responsible for establishing a system of organization and classification that would secure uniformity in the staffing of the various departments and in the salaries paid for work of equal levels of difficulty and responsibility.

The jurisdiction of the Commission now extends to all departments of the Government and to a large number of boards and commissions, exclusive, however, of Crown corporations or such agencies as the Bank of Canada, the National Film Board, the National Harbours Board and the National Research Council. See Part IV of this Chapter, pp. 93-101, for further details and statistics.

The Civil Service Commission consists of three members, one of whom serves as Chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of 10 years, and each has the rank and standing of a deputy head. The Commission has a staff of approximately 530 persons working under its direction and located in the headquarters office at Ottawa and in district offices at St. John's, N'i'ld., Halifax, N.S., Saint John, N.B., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver, B.C.

The Department of Defence Production.—The Department of Defence Production was established on Apr. 1, 1951, under the provisions of the Defence Production Act, 1951, which gave the Department a statutory life of five years. Under the Defence Production Act the powers, duties and functions that were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, and the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, were transferred to the Minister of Defence Production. The Defence Production Act repealed the Essential Materials (Defence) Act, 1950–51.

Briefly, its task is to co-ordinate the effort required of the Canadian economy in producing armaments necessary to implement the terms of the North Atlantic Treaty and to co-ordinate the production and purchasing of the requirements of the Armed Forces. The three main branches are the Production Branch, the Materials Branch and the General Purchasing Branch. Supporting them are various administrative and service units such as the Economics and Statistics, Legal, Administration, and Comptrollers' Branches, Financial Adviser, etc.

The Defence Production Act, Sect. 9, transfers the duties previously performed by the Minister of Trade and Commerce, in relation to the following Crown companies, to the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, Polymer Corporation Limited, Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited, Northern Transportation Company (1947), and Canadian Commercial Corporation.

The Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (8-9 Geo. V, c. 43). In 1948, this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (11-12 Geo. VI, c. 45).

The policy of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyze and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada at ten-year intervals. The Bureau reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Further details of the work of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics are given in Chapter XXVIII.